The WellSpan Spotlight

WellSpan Health announces new board member additions to its regional leadership structure

Two new members have recently joined the regional boards of directors at WellSpan Health. Monica Mata Campos, owner of the Veroni Café, has joined the West Region Board of Directors as of Jan. 1, 2024. Dr. Thomas Burns, president of York College, joined the Central Region Board of Directors in July of 2023.

"Monica is deeply engaged in the thriving Chambersburg community and has her finger on the pulse of what we need to continue to support our west region as a whole," said Niki Hinckle, senior vice president for the west region of WellSpan Health. "Our board is focused on delivering high-quality, affordable care in new and expanded ways and I know this important work is in the right hands with these leaders guiding that effort."

"We work collaboratively with Dr. Burns in his role at York College and have a shared commitment to the communities we serve that includes the values of lifelong learning," said Victoria Diamond, senior vice president for the central region of WellSpan Health. "We know that the healthcare industry is changing rapidly, and this board is well positioned to nimbly navigate those changes to best serve our patients."

The West Region Board guides WellSpan Chambersburg, WellSpan Gettysburg and WellSpan Waynesboro Hospitals in addition to other WellSpan facilities across Adams, Cumberland and Franklin Counties, as well as the Hanover area in York County. The Central Region Board is charged with leadership of WellSpan York Hospital and WellSpan Surgery and Rehabilitation Hospital, along with other facilities in York County.

Campos, originally from Oregon, moved to Franklin County nearly a decade ago, opening her café soon after. She is active with the Greater Chambersburg Chamber of Commerce and contributes to numerous local initiatives as a self-described "community enthusiast" who appreciates the value of fostering connections to make a positive impact.

Dr. Burns became the fifth president of York College in July of 2023, previously serving as provost of Belmont University in Tennessee. He also has prior experience serving in a leadership role at Millersville University. He is a strong advocate for a better York, working closely with the Center for Community Engagement.

Both the WellSpan Central and West Region Board of Directors are volunteer governing boards. Members are elected to three-year terms, with officer terms lasting one year.

The full WellSpan Central Region Board of Directors for 2024 includes:

  • Neil Slenker, Esq., Chair, Partner, Stock and Leader
  • Cheryl Thompson, D.N.P., R.N., Vice Chair, Nursing Education Consultant
  • Thomas Burns, Ph.D., President, York College of Pennsylvania
  • Krista Darr, Executive Vice President, Director of Sales Enablement, Fulton Bank
  • Elizabeth Dellinger, Director of Treasury Management, Traditions Bank
  • Victoria Diamond (ex officio, voting), Senior Vice President, WellSpan Central Region
  • Jeff Lobach, Esq., Managing Partner, Barley Snyder, L.L.P.
  • Lee Maddox, M.D., Medical Director, Medicine Service Line, WellSpan York Hospital
  • Suzanne McConkey, Vice President, Human Resources, Glatfelter Insurance Group
  • Benjamin McGlaughlin, Consultant, Design Quake
  • Natasha Romero, Vice President of Human Resources, Donegal Mutual Insurance Company
  • Michael Seim, M.D. (ex officio, voting), Senior Vice President & Chief Quality Officer, WellSpan Health
  • Sandie Walker, Parent Liaison, York City School District

The full WellSpan West Region Board of Directors for 2024 includes:

  • Cheryl Plummer, Chair, Partner, Cardinal Crossings, Inc.
  • Denis Onieal, Principal/LLC, Onieal and Associates
  • Monica Mata Campos, Owner, Veroni Café
  • Julianne Craig, Director of Social Services, Sterling Care South Mountain
  • David Doud, D.O., Surgeon, WellSpan Surgical Associates
  • Patricia Green-Rodgers, Founder, The Patricia Green Group
  • William Happel, Retired
  • Niki Hinckle, (ex officio, voting), Senior Vice President, WellSpan West Region
  • Stephen Holoviak, Ph.D., Retired
  • David Lovett, Retired
  • Edward Mackle, M.D., Medical Director, WellSpan Gettysburg Hospital
  • Horace Martin, M.D., Retired
  • Julie Ramsey, Co-Chair, Integrated Learning Committee, Gettysburg College
  • Edward Schuurman, PA-C, WellSpan Family Medicine, Waynesboro; Advanced Practice Provider Director, WellSpan Health
  • Michael Seim, M.D. (ex officio, voting), Senior Vice President & Chief Quality Officer, WellSpan Health

To learn more about WellSpan's leadership, including our overarching system board of directors, visit